Over 120 countries adopted the United Nations’ first-ever global ban on nuclear weapons Friday, in a significant milestone in the push against nuclear proliferation. Except for one thing: None of the countries that actually have nuclear weapons adopted the treaty, so it doesn’t technically apply to them.
The ban, formally known as the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons , was officially adopted after months of negotiations by the U.N. General Assembly, with the Friday vote: 122 countries voted yes; one — the Netherlands — voted no; and one — Singapore — abstained. Among those voting yes was Iran, which reached a historic diplomatic accord in 2015 with the U.S. and five other world powers curbing Tehran’s ability to acquire a nuclear weapon.
The treaty explicitly says countries cannot “develop, test, produce, manufacture, otherwise acquire, possess, or stockpile nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices.”
Yet every one of the …