The countdown has begun for the first fully operational flight of the Indian Space Research Organization’s most powerful rocket to date: The Geostationary Launch Vehicle Mark 3, or GSLV-MK3.
Liftoff is scheduled for Monday, June 5 at 7:58 a.m. EDT (11:58 UTC, 17:28 local time in India). The rocket will launch from the second launch pad at the Satish Dhawan Space Center at Sriharikota on the southeastern coast of India. 
The GSLV-MK3 can haul about 8 metric tons to low-Earth orbit and 4 metric tons to geostationary transfer orbit, putting its capacity just shy of the no-booster version of United Launch Alliance’s stalwart Atlas V.
It is also the first new launcher for ISRO in more than a decade. The GSLV-MK3 uses a completely new design from the ground up, with little resemblance to India’s workhorse Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) and its variants, or the GSLV-MK1 and GSLV-MK2 vehicles that evolved from …
READ MORE ON PLANETARY.ORG